Windows Vista

Post Reply
Roscoe47
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:03 am
Location: Essex England

Windows Vista

Post by Roscoe47 » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:01 am

Do all the latest versions of Hardwood Solitaire 111 work with Vista?

As I expect those Microsoft people to release Vista Sp1, and then Vista SP2, just like they did with XP, will we have to keep updating/downloading newer versions of your games?
Are then many people out there actually using Vista, and if so, what problems have they encountered?
Regards,

Roscoe47

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 4895
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Post by Jonas » Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:09 am

HWS III should work fine with Vista.

User avatar
Zadig
Noob
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 5:47 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Windows Vista

Post by Zadig » Tue May 08, 2007 10:44 am

Roscoe47 wrote: Are then many people out there actually using Vista, and if so, what problems have they encountered?
I have installed the latest version of Solitaire III on my Vista computer, and it really do not function at all.

I run a Norwegian version of Windows Vista Ultimate on a modern selfbuildt monster.

Right now I really cannot use a program I have bought!

You can see the result here:
http://www.tresfjording.com/images/hwsiii_a.gif
http://www.tresfjording.com/images/hwsiii_b.gif

It seems that starting the game in the WinXP SP2 campability mode has made it playable, but it do not respond as it used to do under XP.
Regards
Zadig Galbaras
A Perturbed Norwegian Agnostic
Image

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 4895
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Post by Jonas » Tue May 08, 2007 3:21 pm

I just switched over to vista, and downloaded solitaire from the website, and I'm not seeing anything odd.

Try downloading again and see if it still doing that.

I'm guessing it's a video driver thing. Ya might want to review that.

User avatar
Zadig
Noob
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 5:47 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

It seems ok....now...

Post by Zadig » Wed May 09, 2007 9:04 am

Reinstalled may ATI drivers, and set the compability to WinXP.
It seems much better now...
Regards
Zadig Galbaras
A Perturbed Norwegian Agnostic
Image

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 4895
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Post by Jonas » Wed May 09, 2007 11:33 am

great, out of curiosity, try running it without being in compatiablity mode. I'm thinking it was just the drivers.

Kazren
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:51 pm

Vista

Post by Kazren » Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:59 pm

I have one of the original versions of Hardware Solitaire and I have many decks I've made with the deck press. Now I have Vista - is there any patch to play my old game with my decks or am I out of luck?
Kazren

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 4895
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Post by Jonas » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:46 pm

Well I THINK the problem was with the installer not the game itself, so perhaps copying the files over would work. OR if you installed over your old windows, it it should still work.

you MAY have to run it in compatibility mode, I think thats a right click on the icon.

sahurst
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Windows Vista

Post by sahurst » Sun May 04, 2008 3:55 pm

I've used HW Sol II for years.

I just got a computer with Vista SP1 & the whole thing freezes up when I try to click on Menu & Help.

HW Spades works with no problems, at this point

* * * EDIT * * *

I figured out that my problem was more of a graphics card issue, than a Vista issue.

Try right clicking on the Icon & go to properties
Under the Compatibility Tab, click on the various "Settings"... see which works best with your computer / monitor / video card.

It worked for me, hope it's helpfull for others.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest