OS X 10.4.7 workaround if the game is locking up

Post Reply
User avatar
Manny
Active Poster
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 11:25 am
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Contact:

OS X 10.4.7 workaround if the game is locking up

Post by Manny » Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:48 pm

Hardware mode is locking up our intel Mac in a bad unkillable way since the 10.4.7 update. The workaround is to disable hardware mode. Since the game is locked up, this has to be done manually. We'll get this sorted out as soon as we can and hopefully address some of those other issues, too.

From your home folder, dig through the following folders:

Library
Application Support
Silver Creek Entertainment

In that folder will be a folder for each game, for example "Hardwood Hearts".

In the game folder, finally, is the file "GlobalOptions.dna"

Open it with TextEdit or somesuch and find the line "HardwareMode=1"

Change the 1 to a 0, so the line reads "HardwareMode=0"

If the default hardware mode test hasn't run yet, such as a new install, you may need to add the following line to prevent it from trying to turn hardware mode back on:
"DefaultEnhancedModeTest.Build=100"

You can tell by whether there's already a similar line (with the game's current build number) in the GlobalOptions.dna file.
Last edited by Manny on Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

connie-m
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:34 pm

Hardwood Solitaire III & Mac OSX v.10.4.7

Post by connie-m » Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:41 pm

I tried the work around...couldn't find "Hardware=1" but did find "HardwareMode=1" so changed the 1 to 0. Result: no more freezing the computer, but solitaire won't open. Nothing happens.
There was also a line, "Hardware.RanOk=1". Should I change that instead? I tried changing both but nothing happened, am reluctant to change the first one back as I don't want another crash.

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 5005
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Post by Jonas » Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:55 pm

Have you tried the ComboUpdater?
http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/ ... intel.html

I read that there we're some Graphics related files missing in the basic update, but if you use the ComboUpdater it has the extra stuff. Might help.

Let us know if it does.

User avatar
mwalpole
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:08 am

Post by mwalpole » Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:30 am

Followed the advice and seems to be working now. Not actually played the game yet but it does load up now.

connie-m
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:34 pm

OS X 10.4.7 workaround if the game is locking up

Post by connie-m » Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:53 am

I downloaded the OSX 10.4.7 Combo updater and now my game is working fine. Thanks!!

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 5005
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Post by Jonas » Fri Jun 30, 2006 12:06 pm

Hrmm, it didn't help on our system. Maybe it was the fact that you set the HW off in the file that actaully fixed it. :/

I guess you could try settin the HW mode back on and see if it still works.

Quite the mystery.

connie-m
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:34 pm

Post by connie-m » Fri Jun 30, 2006 5:35 pm

You are right. When I changed the Hardware Mode back to 1, it froze again. Guess you need both: hardware mode at 0 and the "fix" for the upgrade.

User avatar
mwalpole
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:08 am

Post by mwalpole » Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:41 am

I stil have a problem with it. As I reported before the game loads up but last night when I actually played the game the checkers were flashing and in some instances not visible at all.

mrkachina
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:17 am
Location: Santa Fe, NM

Solitaire and computer freeze up.

Post by mrkachina » Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:42 am

I have tried reloading the new osx upgrade. The game will not open and the mac freezes.
I tried the work around. It did not work.
I went back and redid everything again. Nothing.
I have taken Solitaire III off the desktop until you all come up with something that will work.

PS I downloaded a couple of other Solitaire programs which will work, but are certainly not the quality of Hardwood.

Waiting in the wings,

Jack Frazier

sandis
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 11:52 pm

workaround

Post by sandis » Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:09 pm

after I downloaded the apple update and changed hardware mode from 1 to 0, the program no longer froze the computer; Instead, it just won't open.
this is almost as much fun as playing solitaire. (just kidding)

Barry
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:27 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Same problem.

Post by Barry » Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:43 pm

Made the changes on my mac book and now it doesnt even load....

User avatar
Manny
Active Poster
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 11:25 am
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Manny » Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:25 pm

I updated the notes earlier to reflect the correct option, "HardwareMode". (Thanks connie-m)

Today, I also corrected the file name, it's "GlobalOptions.dna", with an "s"

I also added a note about avoiding the hardware mode test, which can automacially enable hardware mode if the test hadn't been run before. If setting "HardwareMode=0" didn't work for you, then adding the additional line may work. (see above) Solitaire is working fine here with HardwareMode=0

The problem appears to be a bug in texture uploading since the update. I've yet to find an effective workaround other than disabling hardware mode. I have written to Apple, hopefully they'll be able to identify what's going wrong here, but I haven't heard back yet, likely because of the holiday.

User avatar
Manny
Active Poster
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 11:25 am
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Manny » Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:00 pm

Just a quick update.

We've contacted Apple Developer Support, they were able to confirm the problem but didn't have a workaround either.

Now we're in contact with the Bug tracking folks at Apple.

Unfortunately, without a workaround for the problem, we can't really put out a fixed build without simply disabling hardware support.

User avatar
mwalpole
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:08 am

Post by mwalpole » Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:07 am

Is there any update on this?

Post Reply