Match

Post Reply
isolomon
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:00 am

Match

Post by isolomon » Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:03 am

Hi:
I can't seem to find the menu item that allows me to set up a match.
I'm only playing against the computer. Perhaps in a few months I'll feel up to playing a human.
Please let me know where to go to set up a match.

Thanks
Ira :?:

User avatar
WIST
Grand Master
Posts: 2110
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:32 pm

Post by WIST » Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:58 am

Hi isolomon

When you first open gammon and get past the intro screens, you see a screen that says Play Online. Click there, then click Log In and you will see the lobbies. Smoots is the one where you'll find other players and where you can have a match with live people.

Hope that answers your question. :)
for what it's worth
Image

isolomon
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:00 am

Match

Post by isolomon » Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:12 pm

Hi:
But can I play a match against the computer??? That is what I want to do.
I admire both your parrot picture and your very elegant cat. Someday one of my cats will actually sit in a good position long enough to get a good picture.
Thanks
Ira

User avatar
WIST
Grand Master
Posts: 2110
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:32 pm

Post by WIST » Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:20 pm

There are two ways in which you can play against the computer.

1. Before the login screen you will see two options. One says Play, the other says Play Online. If you chose Play, you will be able to play OFFLINE against the computer. In using this method, you will have a challenging game.

2. If you chose to Play Online, Login, go into either lobby, click Host a Game. At this point, you can chose your board options, then click OK. A board will be set up for you, then to play against the computer (aka the bots), just click once on the empty seat. A bot will be inserted as your opponent.

Did that make sense? :) And ty, i love my parrots as well.
for what it's worth
Image

isolomon
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:00 am

Match

Post by isolomon » Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:46 pm

It doesn't make sense, but it works.
There ought to be a simple option: "Play Match against Computer"
Perhaps in the next version?
Thanks.

User avatar
Wanderer
Active Poster
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: UK

Re: Match

Post by Wanderer » Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:06 am

isolomon wrote:It doesn't make sense, but it works.
There ought to be a simple option: "Play Match against Computer"
Perhaps in the next version?
Thanks.
My version gives me the option of playing Online or playing a Single Player game (vs the Computer). It makes sense to me.
Keith :-P
aka, Tavli Man

Post Reply