I'm confused

Aurielle

I'm confused

Post by Aurielle » Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:06 am

Hello all,

I'm new to Hardwood Hearts, I'm currently running the trial version but I'm unsure whether I will buy or not yet.

The main reason for this is being abused, or laughed at or voted to be kicked off for reasons I simply don't understand.

Since starting 3 days ago I have been told so many do's and dont's and if I follow all of these I can't seem to win.

The first one I was taught was not to lead spades if I passed the Queen - but sometimes I just don't have a choice - If heart's aren't broken and my diamonds and clubs are all high the best thing for me to do is lead a spade so I don't get the Queen (that's the whole point of the game, right?), so then I get accused of PNP. I always lead a low spade if I have to lead spades so someone can take the trick and lead so I don't have to lead spades again, but I still get accused of PNP so it's a lose-lose situation - I either lead with a high card and get the Queen or lead a low spade and get yelled at.

I've been yelled at for 'dumping' the Queen 'too early' - but to me the Queen is like a hot potato in my hands, I want rid, and want rid QUICK before I get stuck with it - what's so wrong about that?

I've been told not to lead diamonds unless I have the Jack - so again, lose lose situation I can't lead spades, I can't lead diamonds, my clubs are all high, hearts aren't broken - what am I supposed to do?!

I just can't seem to make ANY move without ticking someone off and I'm taking a lot of losses by trying to do the right thing and follow these 'rules' and just end up losing and being laughed at anyway.
I was close to losing but had some good cards and tried to claw my way up to 3rd place for the personal challenge and to make it a little more competitive, and someone laughed and called me an idiot because I was 'fighting so hard for 3rd place'