Can't find LAN play option

Stefano
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 7:19 am

Can't find LAN play option

Post by Stefano » Sat May 09, 2009 7:24 am

Hello.

I just downloaded the latest version of Hardwood Hearts (build 89) but I didn't found the LAN play option.
It was removed from the software? Why?

Regards,

User avatar
U.S. Marshall
Active Poster
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:18 am
Location: Kansas/ where Sheep are vermin

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by U.S. Marshall » Sat May 09, 2009 12:02 pm

LAN= Local Area Network, I think you mean something else.
Image
Image

Stefano
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 7:19 am

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Stefano » Sat May 09, 2009 2:26 pm

I'm talking about Local Area Network.
Hardwood Hearts allows you to play Hearts over a LAN (w/o connecting to a server), but I upgraded my game to the latest version and cannot find this option anymore.

Does anyone knows anything about it?

Thanks.

User avatar
Dust In The Wind
Guide
Posts: 5328
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: North Ga Mts

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Dust In The Wind » Sat May 09, 2009 6:32 pm

Yes the LAN is kind of cool if you have a local net and can play in a community. I did not check that feature out since the upgrade but will look for it when I can and in the mean time someone else may come online with the info.

JUST DUST
TO BE OR NOT TO BE..... NOW WHAT KIND OF QUESTION IS THAT??? TO BE OF COURSE!!!!!

CalculatedRisk
Guide
Posts: 3660
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 1:28 pm
Location: Mo USA
Contact:

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by CalculatedRisk » Sun May 10, 2009 6:19 am

I don't see it in the beta either Stefano. It's usually right there when you log your nick in there is a tab that says "LAN".

Marshall that is where you can set your own private game, you will recieve an IP# and then you message or send it to your friends. They enter the number and you can play online together with no one but who you choose. LAN games are alot of fun.
Image

User avatar
Primal Instincts
Grand Master
Posts: 3698
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:40 pm
Location: Deep in The Mountains/Wash State/Wyoming

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Primal Instincts » Sun May 10, 2009 6:37 am

Yup its right on the sign in screen......... 8)

Image
Image
The Wilderness has answers to questions man has not yet learned to ask.

Stefano
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 7:19 am

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Stefano » Sun May 10, 2009 8:16 am

I think you didn't upgrade to the latest build yet.
Take a look on the same sign in screen in the latest version:

Image

User avatar
Primal Instincts
Grand Master
Posts: 3698
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:40 pm
Location: Deep in The Mountains/Wash State/Wyoming

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Primal Instincts » Sun May 10, 2009 9:16 am

That is my Spades account.........dont see it on my Hearts account....was just showin where its located for Marshall....... 8)
Image
The Wilderness has answers to questions man has not yet learned to ask.

User avatar
U.S. Marshall
Active Poster
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:18 am
Location: Kansas/ where Sheep are vermin

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by U.S. Marshall » Sun May 10, 2009 6:50 pm

ok, ok I just thought he meant something else, apparently you can set up a LAN Game. I just didn't see the point if it wasn't rated " ya'll know I am a ratings freak. :oops:
Image
Image

Stefano
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 7:19 am

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Stefano » Mon May 11, 2009 7:04 pm

... so is it possible to play over a lan with the latest build or not? I'm afraid it's not possible anymore! :?

dukebob
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:13 pm

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by dukebob » Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:18 pm

Has anyone found out what happened to the LAN button?
I played it that way all the time until the new update.
Just hope the didn't do away with it.

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Jonas » Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:46 pm

Ya it's been dun did away with.

We're trying to move to a less complicated process for players.

We hoped that folks that played LAN would be okay with playing on the server as we plan to extend the functionality on the online side with some exciting stuff soon.

jabez
Noob
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:41 pm
Location: Riverside California
Contact:

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by jabez » Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:56 pm

We need this option when playing out of range of DSL we have hearts lan parties.. And we all bring our laptops...easier then cards ,, faster and fun. Plz re-add this ..Jabez

FreeUrantia
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:03 pm
Location: ND
Contact:

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by FreeUrantia » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:20 pm

Can't play LAN anymore? The game is worthless to me without LAN. That's how my wife and I play it, we don't play online. This stinks.

User avatar
Jonas
Illuminated One
Illuminated One
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't find LAN play option

Post by Jonas » Tue Jan 17, 2012 7:02 pm

You can still download the old version, I think it might still have LAN play.

Hardwood Hearts version 1
http://www.silvercrk.com/downloads/hearts/1/

Post Reply