how often do you suspect cheating by collusion?

BobSaginaul

how often do you suspect cheating by collusion?

Post by BobSaginaul » Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:46 am

I've been playing at Hardwood Hearts on and off for a few years now. And when I play, I play mostly for fun with a competitive edge. My rating fluctuates from the low 1300's to just below 1500. And I've found that lately, I've really had to struggle just to keep my rating at around 1450. I've even taken to keeping track of how many cards in each suite have been played by actually writing this info down. And still my rating stays below 1500.
Tonight I was in a game where there was no doubt in my mind that at least two of the other three players were in collusion to cheat. First of all, when I played, there were only about 100 players online in Smoot's Cavern. And all three came into the game I was hosting at exactly the same time. And all three were constantly dumping the Q on me, even when I had hands where I figured that I shouldn't or wouldn't get the Q. And another give-away was that there were frequent pauses during the game (I'm guessing that they were passing info to one another).
I wonder just how hard would it be to get two or three players sitting close to one another to take advantage of some unsuspecting player or two? My guess is not hard at all. They could be students in a computer lab at some school, college, or univerisity. Or they could be in a cyber cafe or library for that matter. Or they could just be using Instant Messaging to pass info to each other.
But nothing is more infuriating than to be powerless to have to deal with this type of situation. It is extremely unfair to players who play fair and by the rules. And I rather suspect that this type of cheating happens more often than one would naturally suspect, given how easy it is to cheat this way.